Situated in the hills, Roleystone is a scenic suburb 28km away from the city centre.
Roleystone’s name originates from a property purchased by Thomas Buckingham in 1858, upon which he built a sawmill in 1866. The town was also referred to as “The Rolling Stone” and “Rowley Stone” in early police reports. The area was subdivided into farmlets in 1902, and was subsequently developed as orchards and market gardens.
Facilities in the area include Araluen Golf Resort, Roleystone Tennis Club, Roleystone Bowling Club, Roleystone Football Club, Roleystone/Karragullen Cricket Club, Roleystone Scouts and Roleystone Girl Guides as well as other eateries and shops.
Roley’s On The Ridge is a stunning character restaurant based on authentic Australian materials such as recycled jarrah, rusty corrugated tin and enormous Woolamalloo wharfing beams. Head chef/owner Bradley Richards presents a style of cuisine that is a unique multicultural blend of traditional and typical fare, with a twist!
The Araluen Botanic Park and the Araluen Golf Resort are located in the south of the suburb off Croyden Road and are popular picnic and wedding locations, especially during “Springtime at Araluen” when all the flowers are in bloom.
Roleystone Family Medical Centre is a privately owned practice with friendly, local staff providing comprehensive, family, medical care. Their highly qualified and experienced doctors can assist with a wide range of health issues.
The suburb is served by a number of school bus services and by Transperth bus route 241 which runs every hour during the day, connecting the suburb to Kelmscott train station and Stargate Kelmscott shopping centre. All services are provided by the Public Transport Authority.
The Roleystone green waste facility is located on Springdale Road. It is open between 8am and 4.45pm on Saturday and Sunday only. The facility is closed Christmas Day, Good Friday and New Years Day.
The local council is the City of Armadale. The 2 closest schools are Roleystone Primary School and Roleystone District High School.
In order to address the city’s inadequate water supply in the 1920’s, The Premier announced the launch of the ‘Hills Scheme’ to solve the problem of chronic water shortages. The scheme involved the construction of three reservoirs in the Hills to serve the city and three pipe head dams to be built as a short term solution. The project began with the construction of a reservoir and pipe head on Churchman Brook. Churchman Brook Dam, completed in 1929, provided Perth with a substantial portion of its Hills water supply until 1937. Now the dam also serves as a leisure area, with five appealing picnic areas, several with free gas barbecues. A large grassed playing area is ideal for families. Nearby, younger children can have fun in a modern playground.
Contact our Property Managers who are the experts in Roleystone Property Management today!